2003 Election for the Government of Ontario

PREMIER Dalton McGuinty - Ontario Liberal Party

38th Parliament of the Government of Ontario

Duration 19th November 2003 - 10th September 2007

Election Held on 2nd October 2003

Seats won Vs. Popular support

Summary Results | Full Results

PartyNumber of seatsPopular Support
Ontario Liberal Party72 (69.9 %)46.47 %
Progressive Conservative Party of Ontario24 (23.3 %)34.67 %
New Democratic Party of Ontario7 (6.8 %)14.69 %
Other0 (0%)4.17 %

Total number of seats: 103

Wasted Votes

Voters cast 4,497,244 votes. 2,232,008 of them were wasted

536,193 votes for Ontario Liberal Party wasted

976,976 votes for Progressive Conservative Party of Ontario wasted

531,507 votes for New Democratic Party of Ontario wasted

187,332 votes for Other wasted

Most Wasted Votes

Most of the time in our current system more than half of the votes cast in a district are wasted. The following table shows the worst of these.

Top Five Most Wasted Votes | All Over Half Wasted

DistrictPercent Votes Wasted
London-Fanshawe-Ont.64.13 %
Oshawa-Ont.62.68 %
Hamilton West-Ont.60.03 %
Guelph-Wellington-Ont.57.78 %
Cambridge-Ont.57.5 %

More than half of the votes cast in 56 districts were wasted. More than 54 % of all districts