2014 Election for the Government of Ontario

PREMIER Kathleen Wynne - Ontario Liberal Party

41st Parliament of the Government of Ontario

Duration 12th June 2014 - Present

Election Held on 12th June 2014

Seats won Vs. Popular support

Summary Results | Full Results

PartyNumber of seatsPopular Support
Ontario Liberal Party58 (54.21 %)38.65 %
Progressive Conservative Party of Ontario28 (26.17 %)31.25 %
New Democratic Party of Ontario21 (19.63 %)23.75 %
Green Party of Ontario0 (0 %)4.84 %
Other0 (0%)1.51 %

Total number of seats: 107

Wasted Votes

Voters cast 4,819,934 votes. 2,561,761 of them were wasted

594,700 votes for Ontario Liberal Party wasted

920,302 votes for Progressive Conservative Party of Ontario wasted

740,575 votes for New Democratic Party of Ontario wasted

233,269 votes for Green Party of Ontario wasted

72,915 votes for Other wasted

Most Wasted Votes

Most of the time in our current system more than half of the votes cast in a district are wasted. The following table shows the worst of these.

Top Five Most Wasted Votes | All Over Half Wasted

DistrictPercent Votes Wasted
London North Centre-Ont.63.93 %
Durham-Ont.63.6 %
Kitchener—Conestoga-Ont.63.55 %
Brant-Ont.62.86 %
Kitchener—Waterloo-Ont.62.59 %

More than half of the votes cast in 70 districts were wasted. More than 65 % of all districts